• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

[JS InDesign CS3] Style groups, begone! (or: How do I take paragraph and character styles out of style groups?)

New Here ,
Oct 28, 2009 Oct 28, 2009

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Sorry for this question (and my terrible English, by the way), I'm a javascript noob and I know when I've reached my limits.

Well, I'm trying to take a set of paragraph and character styles out of the style groups they are placed in, in hundreds of InDesign documents (that cannot be treated as a book). As far as I've tried (thanks to the invaluable help of previous posts in this forum) I've been able to move a style into a group and change it's position inside the group, inside the root level or even between groups. But it doesn't matter how I try, I don't know which move reference should I try in case I want to take every style out of their style group and place them after their original group folder, at the [Root] style level .

I have tried:

var doc=app.activeDocument;

var pGroups=doc.paragraphStyleGroups;

for (i=pGroups.length-1; i>=0; i--){

var pStylesInGroup=pGroups.paragraphStyles;

for (j=pStylesInGroup.length-1; j>=0; j--){

// Here I am, trying to move a style outside the folder that contains it, and failing miserably.

pStylesInGroup.move (LocationOptions.after, pGroups);

}

}

It didn't work, the script sent an invalid parameter value in the reference field, so I cant use the group folder itself as reference.

Tried other (obviously wrong) solutions, like use the first available style as reference. Therefore, my second script was

var pStyles=doc.allParagraphStyles;

// Now I try placing the styles after the [Basic Paragraph], that is, the second paragraph style in the document style list

pStylesInGroup.move (LocationOptions.after, pStyles[1]);

}

}