• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Linking text boxes

New Here ,
Apr 07, 2021 Apr 07, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am self taught and cannot find an example or solution for the following.. I am creating a family tree chart over a multitude of pages. Each couple has their own text box. Because I am resricting the charts to A4 pages the charts spread over many pages and so I want to iundicate where each leg of the tree continues on  and it is rarely the next page. Is there a way of doing this so that if I insert a page down the track the presentation automatically adjusts? I have attached a copy of page B81 showing what I currently have. In this case all the links are back to the same page but this is not always the case.  If I insert a page between these two I have to work though the whole doc changing the affected page numbers on the charts. Curreently this is many 100s of pages for some families!Screen Shot 2021-04-08 at 7.28.50 am.png

TOPICS
How to

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Guide ,
Apr 07, 2021 Apr 07, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I think you may be able to use what they call in the newspaper game a "jump line." That's the thing at the end of a column which isn't the end of the story that reads something like "See Warehouse Fire-p7," and then on page 7, you might see something like "Warehouse Fire cont. from p3."

To do this in InDesign, you use Type>Insert Special Characters>Markers>Next Page Number. In this screen shot, I'm showing a text thread that jumps around between pages 2 & 3:

Screen Shot 2021-04-07 at 5.20.57 PM.png