• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Master pages best practices question

New Here ,
Aug 14, 2020 Aug 14, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

The file has over 200 individual Master Pages with specific information and graphics on each Master Page.  The file is 1.65 GB and growing larger daily.  The file includes all the marketing for individual job write ups with pictures, resumes, etc, each on an Master Page.

What is the proper way to structure the file with that many Master Pages?  Is there a better way than Master Pages? 

I am new to the program and the individual that created the file is no longer here.  I am having some corruption issues and need to copy all pages (Masters and spreads) to a new file, but am hesitant to do so until I find the best structure solution for the file.  

Thank you.  

TOPICS
How to

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Aug 14, 2020 Aug 14, 2020

I think saving related templates to discrete files for each function, rather than one Mother of All Master Pages might serve you better.

1. You wouldn't have to Cmd/Ctrl+Click on every master page element to release it and replace the canned copy with relevant information.
  2. You would have specialized, smaller files targeted to specific needs — e.g. Bio Pages, Tem Profile Pages, Project Pages, etc.).
  3. Smaller files will be much fgaster and easier to navigate than the one big file you're using now.

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

So, 200 Master Pages. How many (roughly) document pages does each Master Page control, and how many total pages is your document?

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines