Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Master Pages with text boxes

New Here ,
Oct 16, 2012 Oct 16, 2012

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hey,

I would've thought this would be easy to find, but I just can't seem to.

I have a master page and want to have a blank text box in the same location for everytime a new page is created. When I do that in the master page, of course the text box is not on the newly created page, I must just be missing something?

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Oct 16, 2012 Oct 16, 2012

Are you using the master with the text frame? What makes you think it isn't there?

Master text frames are really designed for placing text, which will override them automatically. If you want to type or paste text into them you have to override them manually first.

Hold down the Ctrl/Cmd and Shift keys and click on the frame to override it.

Votes

Translate

Translate
Participant ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

The text box absolutely should appear on any pages that that master is applied to. Maybe you're not applying that master to your new page? Each page in the Pages pallette shows a letter corresponding to the master applied to it. If no master is applied, it will show no letter and the page won't have your master items.

Picture 2.png

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Are you using the master with the text frame? What makes you think it isn't there?