Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Migrating Illustrator Templates to InDesign

Community Beginner ,
Dec 01, 2020 Dec 01, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi folks,

My company has made the error long before I arrived to use Illustrator for basic layouts and templating for what are essentially cataloguing purposes. I'm trying to convince them that InDesign is the appropriate tool. I showed them the features we were missing out on and they saw the merit.

The trouble comes from the fact that we have hundreds of .ai files created by Illustrator that we still need to be able to access and modify if needed.

I was a little dismayed to find the interoperability between the two programs seems somewhat limited in the way of editing capabilities within InDesign...? I ended up copy-pasting from Illustrator into InDesign in order to recreate the layout/template. But is there some functionality I'm missing here?

I'm still learning the ins and outs of InDesign, so can someone please fill me in: Is there no way to make edits to Illustrator files (or PDFs) with InDesign?

My read so far is that Adobe is steadfast in posing InDesign as the program where all your content meets up, but not a place to edit said content. It seems really hard to make edits to things that weren't natively created in InDesign.

Even though InDesign is the more suitable choice, it's not going to be so fun to be paying for 2 subscriptions just so we can use InDesign going forward and also access our old work with Illustrator.

TOPICS
How to

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Dec 01, 2020 Dec 01, 2020

Hi @Henry933:

I'm still learning the ins and outs of InDesign, so can someone please fill me in: Is there no way to make edits to Illustrator files (or PDFs) with InDesign?