Highlighted

Missing Pantone Coated and UnCoated Colors in InDesign 2017

New Here ,
Dec 19, 2016

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

How do I update Pantone Color Palettes in inDesign CC 2017 so that missing colors can be made available (i.e.: colors 2389 & 2263 are currently unavailable via the Pantone Coated Color Library. Thanks in advance for any assistance.

PS: Running Adobe CC 2017 products on a Mac running OS X Yosemite 10.10.5

Adobe Community Professional
Correct answer by rob day | Adobe Community Professional

For InDesign copy the downloaded .acb files into your Presets/Swatch Libraries folder:

Screen Shot 4.png

Then to load a swatch it's New Swatch from the Swatch panel fly out where the new libraries can be found Color Mode dropdown menu.

Screen Shot 5.png

For Illustrator I think you'll have to use Other Library and load the .acb, see my #4

For Photoshop copy the .acb files into /Applications/Adobe Photoshop CC 2017/Presets/Color Swatches and restart Photoshop

TOPICS
How to

Views

46.3K

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more

Missing Pantone Coated and UnCoated Colors in InDesign 2017

New Here ,
Dec 19, 2016

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

How do I update Pantone Color Palettes in inDesign CC 2017 so that missing colors can be made available (i.e.: colors 2389 & 2263 are currently unavailable via the Pantone Coated Color Library. Thanks in advance for any assistance.

PS: Running Adobe CC 2017 products on a Mac running OS X Yosemite 10.10.5

Adobe Community Professional
Correct answer by rob day | Adobe Community Professional

For InDesign copy the downloaded .acb files into your Presets/Swatch Libraries folder:

Screen Shot 4.png

Then to load a swatch it's New Swatch from the Swatch panel fly out where the new libraries can be found Color Mode dropdown menu.

Screen Shot 5.png

For Illustrator I think you'll have to use Other Library and load the .acb, see my #4

For Photoshop copy the .acb files into /Applications/Adobe Photoshop CC 2017/Presets/Color Swatches and restart Photoshop

TOPICS
How to

Views

46.3K

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
Dec 19, 2016 0
Guide ,
Dec 20, 2016

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

The Pantone Colour Manager software can download up-to-date Pantone libraries and install them in Adobe software. Pantone (foolishly IMO) charge for this software, but if you have an actual Pantone guide, there should be a code with which you can get it for free.

Or, you can download the libraries below, and place them in /Applications/Adobe InDesign CC 2017/Presets.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Link removed by moderator – unless you can provide documentation from Pantone to redistribute their products, you cannot post links to them here!

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
Reply
Loading...
Dec 20, 2016 5
Explorer ,
Jun 15, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am having the same problem. I have the latest version of the Pantone color manager software and my books are registered. I have most colors but I'm missing PMS2149 when I try to spec. in Illustrator. It's critical I have the correct spot color for this job as it's a brand color for a client. Any other suggestions?

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
Reply
Loading...
Jun 15, 2018 0
Explorer ,
Jun 15, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

This isn't quite the right answer.

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
Reply
Loading...
Jun 15, 2018 0
Adobe Community Professional ,
Jun 16, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I have the latest version of the Pantone color manager software and my books are registered. I have most colors but I'm missing PMS2149 when I try to spec. in Illustrator.

You have to export the new books from Pantone Manager and load them into Illustrator

Looks like Danny's link is broken. Try this one, this zip archive has the new books as .acb files:

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Link removed by moderator – unless you can provide documentation from Pantone to redistribute their products, you cannot post links to them here!

From Illustrator try loading the books. Choose Swatch Libraries>Other Library... and choose the new .acb file. Moving them into the AI Presets folder doesn't work for me in AI but does in InDesign:

Screen Shot 1.png

Screen Shot 3.png

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
Reply
Loading...
Jun 16, 2018 2
Guide ,
Jun 18, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Fixed link:

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Link removed by moderator – unless you can provide documentation from Pantone to redistribute their products, you cannot post links to them here!

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
Reply
Loading...
Jun 18, 2018 0
Adobe Community Professional ,
Jun 18, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I think the moderator who locked this thread was in error. This has been fully documented here:

Pantone Libraries

and here:

Pantone Library Sharing

Since I'm also a moderator (my name is Steve Werner, and I'm an ACP) I'm unlocking this thread again.

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
Reply
Loading...
Jun 18, 2018 3
Adobe Community Professional ,
Jun 18, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
Reply
Loading...
Jun 18, 2018 1
Guide ,
Jun 18, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Thanks Steve.

As I can't edit my original posts, here's the link to the libraries again:

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/7veu29wd6aq350l/AADfMTSdXEQd3Qkw1MxQYHLqa?dl=0

And, just in case the moderator missed it the first few times, here's the 'documentation from Pantone to redistribute their products':

Sharing Libraries from PANTONE Color Manager with Workgroup - Pantone.com

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
Reply
Loading...
Jun 18, 2018 7
Community Beginner ,
Jun 19, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Thank you for this and your persistence!

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
Reply
Loading...
Jun 19, 2018 1
Explorer ,
Jun 20, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Still not getting the colors I need. They are in the swatch book but not in the application.

Any thoughts on how I can get all the colors in the swatch book in my applications?

Any ideas on why some are missing?

I have the latest books and they are registered. I have the latest manager software version and it's activated.

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
Reply
Loading...
Jun 20, 2018 0
Explorer ,
Jun 20, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I noticed Rob's library is V2, the versions Danny provided in dropbox are V3. This could be part of my issue. Finding the right version. Thanks!

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
Reply
Loading...
Jun 20, 2018 0
Adobe Community Professional ,
Jun 20, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

For InDesign copy the downloaded .acb files into your Presets/Swatch Libraries folder:

Screen Shot 4.png

Then to load a swatch it's New Swatch from the Swatch panel fly out where the new libraries can be found Color Mode dropdown menu.

Screen Shot 5.png

For Illustrator I think you'll have to use Other Library and load the .acb, see my #4

For Photoshop copy the .acb files into /Applications/Adobe Photoshop CC 2017/Presets/Color Swatches and restart Photoshop

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
Reply
Loading...
Jun 20, 2018 2
New Here ,
Sep 12, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Illustrator's Pantone swatch libraries are located in:

/Applications/Adobe Illustrator CC 2018/Presets/en_US/Swatches/Color Books

(basically the same as other Adobe applications, just under "Colour Books")

if you create an "old" folder in "Colour Books" and put the original .acb files in there, you can still have access to them without cluttering up the list of libraries.

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
Reply
Loading...
Sep 12, 2018 0
Community Beginner ,
Sep 19, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Thank you! The Pantone site is totally useless.

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
Reply
Loading...
Sep 19, 2018 1
Community Beginner ,
Jun 20, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Thanks you very much!!

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
Reply
Loading...
Jun 20, 2019 0
New Here ,
Jul 05, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello, I tried doing this but all my swatch libraries are greyed out

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
Reply
Loading...
Jul 05, 2019 0
Adobe Community Professional ,
Jul 05, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Can you post a screen capture

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
Reply
Loading...
Jul 05, 2019 0
New Here ,
Jul 03, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

This was exactly what I was looking for, thank you for sharing

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
Reply
Loading...
Jul 03, 2020 0
New Here ,
Nov 13, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

The best workaround I have to offer is this, which may or may not apply to any of you. I've been a graphic designer at a printing company for 36 years. I still have the "box set" of Adobe Creative Suite CS4.  When I need a missing PMS color, I open a blank document in InDesign CS4, create the swatch I need, draw a rectangle, fill it with color, and copy and paste it into ID 18.  Works fine, no Pantone licensing issues, and ID has no problem with the swatch importing.  We from the "old school" don't throw away or uninstall older software, because you just may need it.

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
Reply
Loading...
Nov 13, 2018 0
Adobe Community Professional ,
Nov 13, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

But that wouldn't solve Stephen's problem because 2389 & 2263 didn't exist in the CS4 library, they are new colors. There are no licensing issues see Danny's #8

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
Reply
Loading...
Nov 13, 2018 0
Engaged ,
Dec 05, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Im also missing a PMS color, its PMS 3515c. Neither in Illustrator nor Photoshop 2018cc    

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
Reply
Loading...
Dec 05, 2018 0
Adobe Community Professional ,
Dec 06, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

There's now Pantone V3, which includes 3515.

You can run Pantone Color Manager as a trial, which will let you export the books for the CC apps until the trial expires. Click the Fan icon in the lower right corner of the app, choose a book from the list and from the main menu choose Export>Application>Lab for the Solid Libraries, or Export>Application>CMYK for the Bridge libraries.

Pantone's help pages, which included the licensing page Danny and I posted, are now all linking to a page on matching Pantone colors to house paint. I'm not sure what happened to their help pages or the sharing page, so I'm not going to post the new libraries.

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
Reply
Loading...
Dec 06, 2018 1
Engaged ,
Dec 06, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

@rob day,

thanks it almost works perfect. The issue is that the Pantone app exports files as PANTONELIB.abs.bak. Because it ends with .bak it caused an error. I believe that is some windows format.

Error after exporting lib from PCM

Screen Shot 2018-12-06 at 19.02.56.png

I tried a easy dirty fix by deleting ,bak and than they do load just fine. So now i have up to date Libs.

File with wrong extension on OSX, bottom one works after deleting .bak

Screen Shot 2018-12-06 at 19.21.16.png

Ive just send them an email, let's see what the response is.

There is one more thing i noticed. When you export the book you can choose between LAB or sRGB. When you choose RGB and add the lib in Illustrator, the RG values dont match to numbers given on their site. For instance PMS 3515c on there site 87-7-118 but in illustrator using sRGB color profile the color is 97-0-125?

Does anyone know if the RGB values on their site are using a specific RGB Color Profile?

However after checking the PCM app, i see the sRGB value for 3515c is indeed also 97-0-125 in there app. Now im wondering what that RGB is on their page with colors??? Ive also mailed them about this

Screen Shot 2018-12-06 at 19.42.35.png

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
Reply
Loading...
Dec 06, 2018 0
Guide ,
Dec 07, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

schroef  wrote

Does anyone know if the RGB values on their site are using a specific RGB Color Profile?

God only knows, and even he doesn't know the basis of those CMYK conversions that people used to rely on.

For that reason, the only good use for the Pantone digital libraries is to get the Lab values, to represent spot inks on screen and to convert to other spaces in a colour managed workflow. Forget the RGB values.

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
Reply
Loading...
Dec 07, 2018 0
Adobe Community Professional ,
Dec 07, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

RGB, Hex, or CMYK equivalents are always a problem because either they change in appearance depending on the device's color profile, or the values have to be converted and changed in an attempt to maintain the appearance. So Pantone could identify the destination profile—sRGB rather than RGB, or US SWOP Coated rather than CMYK—but that implies precision and any conversion to RGB or CMYK is really a attempted simulation of the solid ink color and not necessarily an accurate conversion. They might be purposefully vague because precise simulations are not possible.

The move to Lab definitions was welcome because the values can be captured via an instrument like a colorimeter, so the starting source color is accurate, whether it can be accurately simulated within any device dependent color space would depend on the accuracy of the destination color profile, and whether the chosen solid ink color is in the device's color gamut.

You can see when you try to convert 3515 to CMYK that it changes appearance because its out-of-gamut, but the same might be true with certain colors when you try to convert them to sRGB, which is a relatively small RGB space. Any saturated cyan color would likely be outside of your monitor's gamut as well as sRGB.

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
Reply
Loading...
Dec 07, 2018 1
Adobe Community Professional ,
Dec 07, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I've noticed a problem with the V3 Photoshop Lab library. The Lab values for the Warm and Cool gray colors are the same—they should be different. The ID library is OK.  Are you seeing that? Not sure if that means there are other problems in the new PS library.

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
Reply
Loading...
Dec 07, 2018 0
Adobe Community Professional ,
Dec 07, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Screen Shot.png

Screen Shot 1.png

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
Reply
Loading...
Dec 07, 2018 0
Engaged ,
Dec 07, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

@Danny white,

Sorry but that fellow is out of this game.

Why forget RGB values, if those are important to a designer they cant be neglected. Not everybody works with print

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
Reply
Loading...
Dec 07, 2018 0
Engaged ,
Dec 07, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Well seems Pantone has some issues with there numbers than. In illustrator the cool and warm do difference, however the number also differ than those to Photoshop???

Both documents set to sRGB

> Cool Gray #6 Illustrator

Screen Shot 2018-12-07 at 18.47.15.png

> Warm Gray #6 Illustrator

Screen Shot 2018-12-07 at 18.47.29.png

> Cool Gray #6 Photoshop

Screen Shot 2018-12-07 at 18.49.51.png

> Warm Gray #6 Photoshop

Screen Shot 2018-12-07 at 18.49.44.png

All books exported using LAB settings from PCM

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
Reply
Loading...
Dec 07, 2018 1
Adobe Community Professional ,
Dec 07, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Why forget RGB values, if those are important to a designer they cant be neglected. Not everybody works with print

But Pantone manufactures ink, so the colors start from a printed source.

With the Lab libraries you can color manage the conversion to any RGB space including sRGB—with the Adobe CC apps you don't need Pantone's sRGB numbers.

Just set your Color Settings Working RGB space to sRGB, or open a document with the sRGB profile assigned. The Color Picker will show you the correct sRGB conversion when you choose the Pantone swatch under Color Libraries and click back to Color Picker:

Screen Shot 10.png

Also, there are other factors besides the destination profile that might affect the conversion from Lab to sRGB. All of the Conversion Options in Color Settings or Convert to Profile... can have some affect on an RGB conversion, and a big affect on a CMYK conversion.

So I think it's safe to assume Pantone's RGB published values are sRGB, but their Conversion Options are still unknown.

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
Reply
Loading...
Dec 07, 2018 0
Adobe Community Professional ,
Dec 07, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

> Cool Gray #6 Photoshop

I'm seeing the Photoshop Cool Gray book error in the Color Picker not the Color panel—look at Color Picker>Color Libraries>PANTONE+ Solid Coated.

InDesign is correct

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
Reply
Loading...
Dec 07, 2018 0
Engaged ,
Dec 08, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

@Rob,

sorry but converting LAB to RGB or CMYK gives you faulty numbers according to their site and app. I noted this in the other thread as well

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
Reply
Loading...
Dec 08, 2018 0
Engaged ,
Dec 08, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Those apps should convert the same otherwise their color procedure will never be accurate. That is a big problem than

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
Reply
Loading...
Dec 08, 2018 0
Adobe Community Professional ,
Dec 08, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
Reply
Loading...
Dec 08, 2018 0
Guide ,
Dec 10, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

schroef  wrote

@Danny white,

Sorry but that fellow is out of this game.

Why forget RGB values, if those are important to a designer they cant be neglected. Not everybody works with print

It's Pantone's RGB values I'm saying we should forget. If you want RGB values, you derive them from the Lab values, converted to appropriate RGB space using colour managed software.

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
Reply
Loading...
Dec 10, 2018 3
Engaged ,
Dec 11, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Than you end with probably wrong RGB values. When you check Pantone site you will notice that the "official" RGB values are different than when you convert from LAB to RGB.

Than there's another nice Adobe "gift", each program seems to shift the LAB values a tiny bit. Well that is handy for controlled space     

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
Reply
Loading...
Dec 11, 2018 0
Adobe Community Professional ,
Dec 11, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

When you check Pantone site you will notice that the "official" RGB values

How do you think they came up with their RGB values?

They would have to be color managed conversions from the source Lab values, which would be captured via an instrument like a colorimeter (looks like Pantone is owned by X-Rite Graphics - Pantone + X-Rite). Otherwise it would have to be via some kind of empirical comparison from a single device, which would be wildly inaccurate.

There can't be an "official" RGB value because there is no official RGB color space. Again, Pantone does not publish the color management variables—the destination profiles, color intents, CM engine, etc.

shift the LAB values a tiny bit

The source Lab values could also vary depending on how the color is illuminated when the values are captured. Light has different color temperatures, which would affect the color's captured Lab values. Also, the Pantone book colors (.acb files) are presets and act like plugins—they are not part of the Adobe apps and are provided by Pantone. Any value errors would be Pantone's, not Adobe's

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
Reply
Loading...
Dec 11, 2018 2
Guide ,
Dec 12, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

https://forums.adobe.com/people/rob+day  wrote

There can't be an "official" RGB value because there is no official RGB color space. Again, Pantone does not publish the color management variables—the destination profiles, color intents, CM engine, etc.

Precisely.

For the vast majority of graphic designers, Pantone has one useful purpose, and it's one of rapidly decreasing importance: to specify ink formulas for spot colour printing. Everything else, from RGB/CMYK builds to toothbrushes, is Pantone stepping beyond their mandate for marketing purposes.

It's actually quite odd that it's got worse since it was acquired by X-Rite, a more scientific company than Pantone.

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
Reply
Loading...
Dec 12, 2018 0
Adobe Community Professional ,
Dec 12, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

For the vast majority of graphic designers, Pantone has one useful purpose

Since print became a commodity spot color printing is too expensive, so a new purpose seems to be bypassing the Adobe color management system.

The idea being the designer could reference printed solid ink swatches (that have no relationship to process CMYK color) and Pantone would then reliably provide accurate "official" screen and process CMYK color conversions. But the official values become random because the intended output device is a mystery, so that color relies on luck, or no one really caring that much about the output result.

Ironically the instrument captured Lab values eliminate a weak link in the CM process—the monitor profile. So if I convert Lab to GRACol Coated, it will be the best CMYK simulation as long as the press is really running to the GRACol profile (big if). The monitor and its calibration profile are not used in the conversion because it is directly from Lab to CMYK—there's no longer a subjective argument to be made about the color accuracy.

Pantone/X-Rite obviously understand the value of Lab captures as the source color, and it's a bit of a mystery why they don't leverage that and instead publish conversions for The RGB and The CMYK, with no qualifying info.

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
Reply
Loading...
Dec 12, 2018 0
Guide ,
Dec 13, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

And those Lab values will have been captured using devices developed by Gretag-Macbeth, X-Rite's other big acquisition. It's a funny old mess - two brands, owned by the same company, seemingly promoting opposite ideas about colour.

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
Reply
Loading...
Dec 13, 2018 0