Highlighted

Modify CropMarks.jsx

New Here ,
Nov 27, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm a designer, so when it comes to coding, my eyes just glaze over and my brain goes numb.

I work at a digital print shop where we specialize in quick turn arounds and strive to produce a high quality end product.

I have done a little modifying of scripts in the past, but would like to do something a little more robust in this case.

One of the things I do on every job, is after I create a new document, I go to the master page and create crop marks. To do this, I have to 1) go to the master page, 2) Draw a rectangle around the perimeter of the page, 3) Run the script, 4) delete the rectangle, 5) return to my document.

I'd like to automate that process, if possible. My thinking is that if I could modify the CropMarks.jsx script so that all I need to do is run it with a new document open, then it would do all five of those actions and I'd be all set to go. I've poked around in the script editor and there are just so many variables, classes, types, functions... Oh dear, there goes my brain getting numb and my screen is getting foggy.

Even better would be to make it a part of the page setup defaults. The script run every time I create a new document (I'm not even sure that's possible).

If it matters, I'm on a Mac running all of the latest software and OS.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more

Modify CropMarks.jsx

New Here ,
Nov 27, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm a designer, so when it comes to coding, my eyes just glaze over and my brain goes numb.

I work at a digital print shop where we specialize in quick turn arounds and strive to produce a high quality end product.

I have done a little modifying of scripts in the past, but would like to do something a little more robust in this case.