• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Moving from PageMaker to InDesign (Was "Editor")

Mar 05, 2019 Mar 05, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I have been editing various magazines in Sweden for more than 50 years. The last 15 years I have produced a 24 page club magazine, using PageMaker. Suddenly you couldn't convert PMD files to PDFs for the printers, so I had to switch to InDesign. I really regret that, because I have never worked with a more complicated program and I still can't make decent layouts using it. So now I'm giving it up altogether before I get a heart attack. One thing that really makes me mad is the lack of easy-to-understand hands-on instructions, like "do this if you want this result" etc. I'm not the least interested in all the twists you catalogue, I just want to go on making a decent magazine with headings, photos and regular text parts. Nothing fancy at all. But such a publication seems impossible to create with InDesign, which apparently was created by computer freaks who never worked with other printed matter than glossy brochures that nobody reads. Shame on you!  Is there anyone else out there who feels like I do?       

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

InDesign is a powerful, professional level application with a steep learning curve. If you’re not willing to put in the time to learn it, it’s not for you.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,
Feb 23, 2021 Feb 23, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

LATEST