Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Need some guidance with spot colors

New Here ,
Sep 03, 2020 Sep 03, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi there,

I'm fairly new to indesign and I am currently working on a page for a book.

The page mainly consists of an image that I developed in Photoshop. I import and place it on that page in Indesign. On that image several areas will get a varnish layer when printed. Those areas I have as a seperate layer in Photoshop.

The printers told me to add a new color to the PDF so it is CMYK+1. In Indesign as I understand it I need to create a new (spot) color for that. Done that.

Now how can I import the said layer from Photoshop (in what format) and how can I assign that colour to it? So that all the information are in the final print PDF?

I attached two PNG files to illustrate my question. The first one is the illustration to be printed on that page while the second marks the areas that need to get the varnish. (granted these are not the real files and not cmyk but only for the sake of illustration of my request)

I hope I laid out all the information for you to understand what I want to achieve. If not please ask.

Thank you in advance!

Christian

TOPICS
How to , Print

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Sep 03, 2020 Sep 03, 2020

Hi,

You have 2 options here. Depending on the complexity of the area to varnish:

A- the quick and easy choice: 

1. Import your picture in InDesign
  2. Create a new spot color in your swatch palette https://helpx.adobe.com/ie/indesign/using/swatches.html
  3. The colour that you choose (bright pink for example) will not print in that colour, it is just to help the printer seperate that information from the rest of the picture and print the varnish separately.