• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

No option for [No Paragraph Style], cannot override

New Here ,
Jan 26, 2021 Jan 26, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

When using InDesign, I cannot apply different font weights to my text. There's something wrong with my paragraph styles but I can't figure out what is going on.

For example, I can open a new document and create a headline in regular weight. [Basic Paragraph] is selected. I have no other option, there is no [No Paragraph Style]. When I try to change the weight to bold, an override icon appears next to the style name but the text does not change appearance. I can change the font and color, but not the weight. When I clear overrides, it goes back to the Basic Paragraph.

I tried breaking the link to [Basic Paragraph], but then it just appears as [No Styles]+ in the little header bar above [Basic Paragraph]. Can someone please help me fix this? I've been using InDesign for 10 years and this has never been an issue. It's driving me crazy!

TOPICS
Bug , Performance , Type

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Jan 29, 2021 Jan 29, 2021

Hi

Looking more closely at your first screen shot, your font is Vista Sans OT Black 46/14 Red. Can you click on "Basic Character Formats" in that panel and post it so we can see what that says?

One possibility is that Vista Sans OT Black does not come in Bold. If you use the drop down for typestyle in the Character or Control panel, what are the choices?

A second possibility is that a Character style is applied. Open the Character Styles panel and show that also if you don't see it.

~ Jane

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied