• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Novice web designer needs help

Explorer ,
Nov 19, 2018 Nov 19, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Client gave me a pdf that they want made into a simple website. I'm a print designer, so trying to use InDesign, as that's what I'm most comfortable with. The web site is 9 pages that need to scroll vertically (basically one TALL page, that users will scroll down), but the header at top (logo/contact) needs to remain stationery. I've followed instructions on blogs, but with no success. When I create a TALL doc and preview it, it fits to the vertical space on screen, which means it's super tiny/narrow. If I keep each page as a separate page, and try to adjust transitions to go "down" ... it STILL scrolls left to right. And this doesn't even touch the "top banner needs to stay stationery" dilemma. Ugh.

I know this is web design 101, and I'm being lame. I dabbled in coding in the '90s, then let it go and stayed with print. Obviously regretting it now. Please help!

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Nov 20, 2018 Nov 20, 2018

Either find a web designer to subcontract this out to or turn down the job.

While products such as in5 can turn InDesign into an HTML authoring tool, I don't recommend it for that. The right tool for the right job should always be rule one and InDesign is not the right tool for designing a website.

Even for a simple one page site something like Squarespace would be a far better choice.

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,
Nov 20, 2018 Nov 20, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Either find a web designer to subcontract this out to or turn down the job.