• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Oh, help! What am I doing wrong.

New Here ,
Feb 25, 2021 Feb 25, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am a definite scripting newbie and I just can't figure out what I'm doing wrong.  I have the javascript below as an exercise and I'm trying to figure out why the approach in the second part gives me errors and the 1st works fine.  I have a text frame named SourceLbl on the pasteboard containing some text. It is also selected.   When I run this, it tells me that myFrame is a TextFrame, but then I get "Object is Invalid" errors when trying to reference the parent or obtain the text.  In the next few lines, dealing with the same object as a selection, the same things work fine.  It's parent is the Spread. I can display the text.  There's clearly something I just don't get about these two different methods.  I've set the Find/Change preferences for the document to use all hidden layers.  That didn't seem to have any effect.  I'm thinking the fact that it's the Pasteboard that's causing my issues.  Can anyone give me any insight into the differences here.  Just working at learning this scripting thing.  I had 30 years of programming experience "back in the day" working with everything from Autocoder to Fortran to COBOL to Assembler, but this object-oriented thing has me scratching my head!  

Here's the code.  I've attached a screenshot of the spread, etc.

if (app.documents.length > 0) {
//this part works fine
var selFrame = app.selection[0];
var selText =selFrame.texts[0].contents;
var look = selFrame.parent;
alert(selText)
//this part gives me "object is invalid" errors when setting variable lookie, myText
var myDoc = app.activeDocument;
var mySpread = app.activeWindow.activeSpread;
var myFrame = mySpread.textFrames.itemByName("SourceLbl");
var lookie = myFrame.parent;
myText = myFrame.texts[0].contents;
alert(myText)
alert("Finished");

TOPICS
Scripting

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines