Highlighted

Orphan text frames not re-linking to Master Pages

Community Beginner ,
May 14, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Dear Community, 

I'm relatively new to ID but sofar tutorials and online help have been great help.

Please forgive me if this is a repost, and if so, kindly guide me to the appropriate thread - I've tried my best to look it up prior to posting, but could not find anything relevant to what I'm going through.
So here goes:

I've been handed down a 1000+ page book to reduce in size.

The book is in Japanese and from my understanding, the most straightforward way would be to look at the leading. 

Now the person who worked on it did not use a baseline grid so that's the first thing I want to establish.

Going to the A-master, to my disbelief, many pages of the book are not linked to the A-Master although it says so.

to quickly see which ones are not, (as attached in the screenshot), I've moved the a-master frame of the right page a bit to the side, and you can see that where the red arrows are, some text frames just are not linked.

some of the things I've tried:

selecting the page>page panel dropdown menu>master pages>remove all local overrides (greyed out)

select page> right click> apply master to pages
you can also see in page 7 the dotted frame moved but the text didn't > so I tried to see if there was another manual frame created on that page > there wasn't

also, the A-mater pages left and right are not threaded

Kindly if anyone has some advice I would greatly appreciate it, I need to relink the text frames to the master frame, and then on the master page, align text to baseline grid for the whole book, decrease font size and baseline increment.

thank you so much

philip

I need to relink the text frames to the master frame, and then on the master page,