Highlighted

Partial title text Variable - script

Community Beginner ,
Apr 20, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi! I'm fairly new to InDesign and scripting. Is there a script to just show a part of a text variable? I found something similar but coulnd't get it to work for my cause.

I have a project with articles with different titles, that will be shown in the top corner of the pages. I have done this with InDesign's variables. The problem is that some of the titles are so long that they won't fit. Is there a somewhat easy way to define this variable to only include a certain amount of characters? 

Thank you!

Correct answer by Caroline96 | Community Beginner

Actually I just came up with an even easier solution by myself!

I have the full titles as they are, but create a new Character Style. With this I select only part of the long titles. Then I can just create a new variable as Running Header, based on the Character Style. This way you don't even need extra titles and it's very ease to choose just how much of the title you want to show in the header 🙂

TOPICS
How to, Scripting

Views

Translate

Translate

Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more

Partial title text Variable - script

Community Beginner ,
Apr 20, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi! I'm fairly new to InDesign and scripting. Is there a script to just show a part of a text variable? I found something similar but coulnd't get it to work for my cause.

I have a project with articles with different titles, that will be shown in the top corner of the pages. I have done this with InDesign's variables. The problem is that some of the titles are so long that they won't fit. Is there a somewhat easy way to define this variable to only include a certain amount of characters? 

Thank you!

Correct answer by Caroline96 | Community Beginner