Highlighted

Placeholder text in idml export

New Here ,
Apr 03, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi, I'm a translator and work with idml files for my customers who use InDesign. I import the idml files into Trados Studio which is a CAT programme and then export them als idml to send to my customers.

I have a new customer who has sent me idml files and when I open them in Trados the text has been replaced with placeholder text (Lorem ipsum etc.).

My customer has no idea why this is happening and I was wondering if anyone can help me. I've been working with idml files with other customers and all the test files I did with this new customer were fine.

I have downloaded the trial version of InDesign and opened the indd file myself, when I export it als idml and try to open it in Trados the same thing happens. I can open all idml files in InDesign and everything looks OK.

Does anyone know what I could do?

Thank you very much 🙂

Linda

Topics

Import and export

Views

Translate

Translate

Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more

Placeholder text in idml export

New Here ,
Apr 03, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi, I'm a translator and work with idml files for my customers who use InDesign. I import the idml files into Trados Studio which is a CAT programme and then export them als idml to send to my customers.

I have a new customer who has sent me idml files and when I open them in Trados the text has been replaced with placeholder text (Lorem ipsum etc.).

My customer has no idea why this is happening and I was wondering if anyone can help me. I've been working with idml files with other customers and all the test files I did with this new customer were fine.