• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Placing icons into InDesign and ability to change colors

Contributor ,
Dec 02, 2020 Dec 02, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

OK, bear with me. I am not a newbie but this one is puzzling me and a coworker.

We have a set of say 50 icons created in Illustrator. I want to use these in all adobe products but particualrly InDesign. I also want the ability to change the color of the icons (they are a single color) quickly. I can do this by opening the Illustrator file, changing colors and copy/pasting every time. Kinda works as you know Indd doesn't always do the best with pasted icons from Illustrator.

I was hoping to have these icons in a CC Library I could share. The issue is, when the icon is dragged from the CC Library, it's a 'placed' object, and I can no longer change the color of it.

I am just trying to avoid having these 50 (or more as time progresses) icons created in the 6 brand colors that we use. I thought it'd be simple to drag & drop, click and change color.

Funny thing, we've just created a bunch of templates on Canva.com for local teams to use and there I can upload the icon as a .svg, and users and drag & drop, click and change colors.

Am I missing something obvious? Thanks.

TOPICS
How to

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Dec 02, 2020 Dec 02, 2020

You could convert the logos into high res Black & White images (Bitmap mode .PSDs). Bitmap mode images can be assigned colors in InDesign. Open the logo in Photoshop at a high resolution:

Screen Shot 16.png

Convert to Bitmap Mode and save as a PSD. This 1000ppi PSD saves at 158 KB

Screen Shot 17.png

Direct select the bitmap and assign a swatch color. The Bitmap’s white pixels are transparent:

Screen Shot 18.png

Votes