• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Placing transparent graphic header in Table

Community Beginner ,
Jul 06, 2020 Jul 06, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello! I'm brand new to InDesign using CS6 on a mac. I have been trying all day to place a transparent header from Photoshop into InDesign and I keep getting what appears to be a SUPER low resolution image. So far, I've changed the preferences to view both the app default and specific images in high quality display performance mode. I have used .png, .tiff., .psd files—all of which look great to my eye at 300 dpi (7.2" x 1.2") in their native apps and in InDesign have actual and effective 300 ppi after being placed. The InDesign file prints how it appears after being placed. I've recreated the header image in Photoshop plus used a different program—always duplicating the same poor quality results after being placed. Does my problem have something to do with placing into a table? I watched one video online that suggested you need to convert the row for graphics, but I couldn't find the option. ANY help or tips would be super appreciated. Thank you! HLRSC_SWEEPS_REPORT_HDR.pngScreen Shot 2020-07-06 at 5.22.22 PM.png

TOPICS
How to , Import and export , Performance , Print

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 2 Correct answers

Community Expert , Jul 06, 2020 Jul 06, 2020

If the image has a transparent background in Photoshop and you Place it as a native PSD document in InDesign then it will have a transparent background in InDesign. If it doesn't, it wasn't transparent in the first place. You can test that in Photoshop by creating an additional Layer, filling it with solid colour (yellow is good) and dragging it below the image layer.

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert , Jul 06, 2020 Jul 06, 2020