Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Problem with strange character spacing

Community Beginner ,
May 25, 2018 May 25, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello,

Since a couple of weeks, InDesign started making strange bigger spaces between characters -  especially on the left side of the columns. It happened in a few exisiting independent documents, with which I had been working for a few years without any problem.

There is also a non-seen special character in the beginning of the paragraphs now, which I had never seen before - I don't know what it is, but deleting it didn't help.

I don't know how to attach a file sample (please advise, how to do it), so I'm posting an exported jpg of it:

test.jpg

If anyone can advise me, who to solve it, I would greatly appreciate it!

Thank you very much!

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , May 30, 2018 May 30, 2018

You've said previously that you're copying and pasting text from somewhere else into InDesign. It appears that there's an extra character in front of each paragraph. I did a little research and it appears to be a punctuation space. I think this is the extra space you're referring to? You can delete that space character and even to a find/replace to get rid of them. This does remove some of the space. Beyond that, you are using a first line indent on each paragraph that is applying a 4mm indent t

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi JerusalemNun:

That is odd.

1. What version of InDesign and what operating system?
  2. What font are you using?
  3. Does the spacing correct itself when you change the alignment to left, or when you use a different font?
  4. Have you tried recomposing the story? (Win: Ctrl-Alt-/; Mac: Command+Option+/)

~Barb