Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Problems with publishing large book in Indesign

Community Beginner ,
Jul 16, 2021 Jul 16, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi All,

A relative Indesign newbie here, trying to learn the package by working on a long document. I have some experience in Framemaker, so learning Indesign’s book features was relatively easy.

To learn Indesign, I convert a large Excel table into a book. This is my first real project – of gargantuan size!

My Indesign book contains:

• 285 files (chapters, section separators, introduction etc.)
  • Table of content
  • PDF bookmarks
  • Word index
  • Estimated page count of around 1050 pages
  • Referenced images in some files and the cover pages.

My 10 year old computer’s specs:

• Core i3-2100 CPU @ 3.10GHz
  • 16.0 GB RAM
  • 250 GB SSD (100 Gb free)
  • 2 GB NVIDIA GeForce GF 610 video card
  • 64 bit Win 10 with the latest updates
  • Indesign 2021 version 16.3 x64 downloaded from the Adobe website.

Observations and problems:

• My large Indesign book synchronizes and preflights without any error.
  • The TOC of the large book builds without error.
  • The book’s files have around 18000 index markers. Indesign crashes every time I try to update the index for all the files in the book.
  • An index built with only 100 out of the 285 files from the book does not crash the Indesign.
  • I can save the book as an interactive PDF without the index file.
  • However, even with the partially complete index of 100 files, the book does not save as a PDF with bookmarks and hyperlinks – Indesign crashes every time.
  • The book with a partial index file can be saved as an ordinary PDF without hyperlinks or bookmarks.    

Need your suggestions:

• Is my computer too old/weak to handle such as large Indesign job?
  • Will upgrading the computer or adding more RAM allow me to publish such a large book.
  • Is Indesign the correct tool for doing these large jobs?