Highlighted

Remove Copy/Paste Ability from PDF Exports

New Here ,
Jun 05, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi all, I am a chemistry lab manager and I am in the process of rewriting and reformating our lab materials using InDesign. I'd like to be able to disable students' ability to copy and paste from the PDF made by exporting my .indd; is this possible? Any suggestions?

This is done in Acrobat, not in InDesign:

• Open the PDF in Acrobat
  • File > Properties > Security > Security Method > Password Security
  • Disable "Enable copying of text, images and other content"
  • Add a permissions password, OK, Confirm, OK

acrobat.png

This is a deterrent but be aware that if a student uses a program other than Adobe Acrobat or Adobe Reader to access the file and they may get around the permissions password. You can purchase more robust encryption, but this is what comes with the software.

~Barb

Topics

How to

Views

Translate

Translate

Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more

Remove Copy/Paste Ability from PDF Exports

New Here ,
Jun 05, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi all, I am a chemistry lab manager and I am in the process of rewriting and reformating our lab materials using InDesign. I'd like to be able to disable students' ability to copy and paste from the PDF made by exporting my .indd; is this possible? Any suggestions?

acrobat.png

This is a deterrent but be aware that if a student uses a program other than Adobe Acrobat or Adobe Reader to access the file and they may get around the permissions password. You can purchase more robust encryption, but this is what comes with the software.

~Barb

Topics

How to

Views

Translate

Translate

Community Guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
Adobe Community Professional ,
Jun 05, 2020