Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

scripts not working when inside Adobe InDesign

New Here ,
Mar 17, 2021 Mar 17, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello!

I am very new to Adobe InDesign. I looked at the tutorial for creating and generating scripts. I created a simple script. It opens a new InDesign document and writes Hello World. It's the script that came from the tutorial. 

However, it only works when I am outside of Adobe InDesign. I place the script on my desktop and double click on it, it works fine. But if I'm in Adobe InDesign and select Windows -> Utilities -> Script and select the same script name, all I hear is a beep and nothing happens. The same for any preloaded scripts. 

I am using Adobe InDesign 2021 and the script I am using is vbscript. Any suggestion on if this is a permission issue or am I missing something.

TOPICS
Scripting

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Advisor ,
Mar 17, 2021 Mar 17, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello,

If you would post the code you're trying to run from Indesign it would be usefull for us on the fourm to try and help you.

Regards,

Mike

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,
Mar 18, 2021 Mar 18, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Here is the code: I took it from the script tutorial.

--------------- code -------------------------------------------------

Set myInDesign = CreateObject("InDesign.Application")
Set myDocument = myInDesign.Documents.Add
Set myTextFrame = myDocument.Pages.Item(1).TextFrames.Add
myTextFrame.GeometricBounds = Array("6p", "6p", "24p", "24p")
myTextFrame.Contents = "Hello World!"