• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Square area percent of page report

New Here ,
Feb 25, 2010 Feb 25, 2010

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Sure this is not the first time someone has looked for a way to do this, but I can't find a solution.

Script to find the square inch area of the each object in the whole document > make a new layer > place a tag on each object stating that object's square area > also generate the percentage of that object's area compared to the page size.

I'm a novice and have hobbled together a few scripts that I've found but can't connect them up. So far I've adjusted a script to return geometric bounds of a selected object. And I modified another script that generates labels on a separate layer (the labels display various attributes of each object, color space, name, link etc).

It seems that inserting my get geometric bounds script should be inserted into the labels script with the parts concerning object attributes but I can't see how (again major Novice).

Haven't figured out how to get the document bounds (though that seems fairly obvious) and how to translate my geometric bounds into inches and find the % of page. I did find an almost perfect script (at the bottom) but it is for Illustrator and doesn't work off the same structure.

My code below. Anything from a point in the right direction to a rewrite would be amazing! Though I really want to understand how so I can contribute, teaching myself but practical applications is not always the best place to learn.

Script #1: Code for geometric bounds (where can I insert this into script #2 to apply square inches and % of page to picture/text labels)

Object.prototype.height = function() {   var bds = this.geometricBounds;

//not using visible bounds, can't see how that would help here but maybe I'm wrong   return [ b[3]-b[1] , b[2]-b[0] ]; }

Script #2: Code for labels (need to convert area from points to inches and find % of page)