• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Using a template to make a resume, text isn't appearing as the templates does.

Community Beginner ,
Jul 10, 2021 Jul 10, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi, I'm a big time newbie to InDesign so forgive me. I've done some searching online but I couldn't figure out how to do exactly what I'm trying to.
I downloaded a resume template from Adobe Stock and I'm replacing the text with my own but there seems to be a change in the padding of the text boxes whenever I try to insert my own text. Here's a before and after:

Screenshot 2021-07-10 164916.png

Screenshot 2021-07-10 164853.png

You can see there's a substantial addition of space when you compare my "B" to his "J".  

I'm not deleting the old text, just typing over it, so I wouldn't think formatting would be changed. Because of this, my name on the headline doesn't show my last name unless I make the text box larger which messes up the clean look of the document. I've looked in text box properties and the margins and padding are at 0 with no way to make it negative (which makes sense) so I don't know where this extra space is coming from.

Any help is greatly appreciated! I'm trying to get my first IT job soon and want to have more than a LinkedIn printout. 🙂

TOPICS
How to

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied