• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

using different para styles on section page

Participant ,
Oct 02, 2020 Oct 02, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I have a master applied with a large text box inside the margins. On one example I was able to place text with two different Paragraph styles. One style for Part number, one for Part title. Despite going back to the functioning page I can not do it again. I tried a non-joining space but no luck, style still applies to all on page when I apply it.I don't see a paragraph return there. I am trying to avoid that because I remember it caused problems in the Table of Contents.

Can anyone tell me how to have two para styles without a return?

TOPICS
How to , Print

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Oct 02, 2020 Oct 02, 2020

You can have a paragraph style, with character style(s) to accomplish this. In your example, "Part V Making Do" can be applied a paragraph style, with a character style applied to "Part V". And, using nested or GREP in the paragraph style, this can apply a character style automatically within the paragraph style. 

For the TOC issue, insert a [Forced Line Break + space] after "Part V". When creating TOC, make sure to select "Remove Forced Line Breaks".

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

You can have a paragraph style, with character style(s) to accomplish this. In your example, "Part V Making Do" can be applied a paragraph style, with a character style applied to "Part V". And, using nested or GREP in the paragraph style, this can apply a character style automatically within the paragraph style.