Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Working with Outlined Text

Explorer ,
Nov 05, 2020 Nov 05, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

Prior to the update - when I converted text to outlines, they would be grouped. So, in other words - if the text were "the" there would be 3 compound paths, grouped together. Hit ungroup and I could edit each one (change color) - picture below for illustration - I am a stationery designer.

Now I am just getting one compound path and they only way I can work with each character to color is with the direct selection tool, which I'd prefer not to touch as it often has unexpected results.

Thoughts?

TOPICS
Performance

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 2 Correct answers

Community Expert , Nov 05, 2020 Nov 05, 2020

But it is absolutely not necessary to outline the text to color each letter separately.

Capture d’écran 2020-11-05 à 20.25.20.jpg

Votes

Translate

Translate

On behalf of Adobe …

Very Seriously!  If you have a “printer” who requires outlined text, you (or perhaps a client of yours) should be looking for a new printer!

There is absolutely no good reason for a print service provider in this day and age to reject a PDF file exported from InDesign using the PDF/X-4 export settings allowing for (1) live transparency and (2) use of ICC tagged RGB content where appropriate as well as “live text” referencing subset-embedded fonts.

The fact is that no R

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

But it is absolutely not necessary to outline the text to color each letter separately.

Capture d’écran 2020-11-05 à 20.25.20.jpg

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more