• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Writing a script to change all ISBN text to hyperlinks with the ISBN appended on the end of the URL

Community Beginner ,
Jul 22, 2020 Jul 22, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello,

I have a catlog in which I have been tasked with writing a script to turn all ISBNs into hyperlinks to products on our website. I've searched through a number of similar posts, but none of the solutions suggested have worked for me. I'm a web developer, so am familiar with writing JavaScript for the web, but since the InDesign API is different enough from a web browser, I'm struggling with writing my own script for this as well.

Things to note:

1. Most of the ISBNs I care about are found in tables.

2. The ISBNs do not currently have character styles and I don't have time to apply them at this point (unless I can write a script for that as well).

3. The ISBN pattern is 123-1-1234-1234-1 (example: 978-1-4966-8092-1).

Thank you!

TOPICS
How to , Scripting

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Jul 22, 2020 Jul 22, 2020

Hi lensera,

indeed, a first step could be to apply a character style to all ISBN coded texts. You could use InDesign's GREP Find/Change for this task very easily. Translating your pattern to a GREP for the find part could be:

\d{3}-\d-\d{4}-\d{4}-\d

If you are sure that the ISBN is always at the end of a paragraph you could add a $ as well:

\d{3}-\d-\d{4}-\d{4}-\d$

But a character style is not essential to your task if the GREP pattern is able to find every instance of an ISBN text.

Wh

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi lensera,