Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Absolute Beginner: How to work with Lightroom classic / Folder structure

Community Beginner ,
Aug 27, 2021 Aug 27, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Dear community

I'm an absolute beginner in photo workflow, so far I used different apps and manual sorting and structures. Therefore, my folders are a bit distributed, my logic so far was:

- a separate external drive for all my picture files

- 1 subfolder for all my RAW files

- 1 subfolder per event with the developed files

Now, I think about using Adobe Lightroom classic as my main app for managing and developing, but I'm struggling a bit on how to deal with my current file structure as well as how to deal with the new to be added pictures in my workflow. Should I keep the RAW files still separated from the developed files? Should I maintain a developing folder to start with and move the files around after developing them? What are your settings/steps/experiences, coming from another set of applications?

Thanks in advance

Martin

TOPICS
Windows

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 3 Correct answers

Community Expert , Aug 27, 2021 Aug 27, 2021

Do not do ANYTHING until you have read from cover to cover- The Lightroom-Classic Quick Start eBook-

https://www.lightroomqueen.com/

You can keep your current file/folder structure.  In the beginning -just 'ADD' the photos to the Catalog in their current location. You can re-arrange later when more experienced.

"how to deal with the new to be added pictures in my workflow."

With newly added photos- read the eBook for Folder structure suggestions.

"Should I keep the RAW files still separated fr

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert , Aug 27, 2021 Aug 27, 2021