• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Best practices for import, export and long term storage of images

Community Beginner ,
Sep 28, 2022 Sep 28, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

So I’m looking for some guidance on the best practices for import export and long-term storage of images using my room classic.

To give you some context for this, I work as a press and commercial photographer, so there are two distinct parts to my photographic library: press and media images, and commercial and client based assignment images.

At the moment I’m still using Aperture. (yeah, I know I should’ve upgraded and moved across to Lightroom, literally ages ago) and the way that my images are currently arranged is into two main folders. Folder 1 is called ‘Press & Media' and folder 2 is called ‘Commercial’. Within these folders or sub folders, and occasionally sub sub folders to separate the various assignments. For example, I have a folder called 'Shows and Events' and then within this is a folder called ‘Chelsea Flower Show’, and within this are subfolders for the specific years, for example, ‘2022’.

My understanding is that I can replicate this filing system within Lightroom classic, and that would be my intention. However, because I’m now getting to the point where I have too many images to hold them on my laptop I’m thinking of moving towards a situation where my photo library is on an external hard drive (which I would have at least two duplicates for, plus an online backup of the drives onto the cloud, incremental, and probably the last years worth of images on the computer as well).

I have a couple of questions based on this: