C key brings up side by side comparison windows with the edited photo but no original photo

New Here ,
May 14, 2022 May 14, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello all,

I am new to Lightroom Classic. I am editing my 2nd photo but unlike the first when I hit the C key the comparison windows come up but only the edited pic is shown and a blank 2nd window. Why is this not working the way the first pic did.

When I started on the first pic I first imported all the pictures into the film strip and for whatever reason that original was kept in the strip. I have just this one picture in the film strip this time and the original did'nt stay. What am I doing wrong and how do I fix it?

Thank you in advance for any help you guys can give.

John

TOPICS
Windows

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe Community Professional ,
May 14, 2022 May 14, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

when I hit the C key the comparison windows come up but only the edited pic is shown and a blank 2nd window. Why is this not working the way the first pic did.

So you need TWO thumbnails selected on the Filmstrip that you can 'Compare'. How many photos have you imported to the Catalog? I hope you are not deleting them from the Catalog (and possibly the hard-drive!)

When I started on the first pic I first imported all the pictures into the film strip and for whatever reason that original was kept in the strip.

Not sure what you mean by this! Filmstrip will normally show all imported photos in the current Folder that is selected and photos would also be visible in Grid View [G]. What do you see in Grid View?

I have just this one picture in the film strip this time and the original did'nt stay. What am I doing wrong and how do I fix it?

What is your exact workflow?

Have you selected another Folder with only one image?