Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

catalogue on external disk on windows

Community Beginner ,
May 19, 2021 May 19, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi

I have been using LR classic for a few years on a Macbook with files and catalogue on an external SSD. I nowinstalled the windows version on a Win10 PC, but when I try importing the catalogue I get the message the it cannot be on an external or network disk. Is this feature not available in the Windows version? Is there maybe a workaround? I want to be able to use LR on both computers by simply swapping the drive.

TOPICS
Windows

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

In order to swap the drive between a Mac and a PC, the drive has to be in a format which both operating systems will recognise, e.g Ex-Fat. How is the drive formatted?

Could you also show us a screenshot of the actual message that you receive.....catalogs most definitely CAN be on an external drive, but cannot be on a network drive,

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Beginner ,
May 21, 2021 May 21, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I indeed chased the problem down to an NTFS partition unknown to me that had a catalogue that would not open. Once I installed a module to access HFS+ I was able to open and import the catalogue. Thanks you. But: this is the screen shot you get when you try reading a catalogue from a network drive:Screenshot_20210521_202815.png

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied