• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Duplicate files in different folders

Explorer ,
Dec 17, 2022 Dec 17, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm pretty new to LrC, so please forgive if this is a stupid question. Plus, I have looked at various posts in the community and have not found an answer to my specific problem. Finally, I have a somewhat fuzzy memory of the recent past and may get some of the "facts" wrong.

When I was just getting started, I imported a large number of photos in folder A into LrC. What I remember doing is copying some of those files into another folder B; I don't remember any warnings from LrC about duplicates, but as a newbie, I may have ignored them. I also may have done the import in the other order, i.e., imported into B first, then A. Subsequently, I made some edits, e.g., clipping, to the original photos in B. I also used Photo AI which created new photos in B. 

I am now trying to clean up my catalog. I found that any photo in B does not show up in the Library view when I look at A. However, LrC does know about it, as when I look at a Import dialog, I can see the photo and hovering over it brings up a popup saying "This photo has already been imported". 

What I want to do is move all of the work I've done in B to A. When I try to move an original (with or without edits), I get a dialog saying "File already exists a location". Yes that is true, but I also can find no way to delete the file in LrC. If I delete the original (or rename it) in A, LrC simply hangs, or at least the move never completes, but I can kill it. However, the edited files produced by PhotoAI move over just fine.

Any advice? Thanks!

TOPICS
macOS

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

LEGEND , Dec 18, 2022 Dec 18, 2022