• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

External Hard Drives back up and working drives

Apr 04, 2021 Apr 04, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hey guys!

So I have a Lightroom/Back Up External Hard drives question.

So obviously as a wedding photographer I always back up all my drives. I work on Windows and I work off only external drives. I have always just literally copied and pasted the whole drive to each back up. So my first question is... is this the best way to do that?

secondly, I now want have like working drive but only have like the one folder I'm working on available, is there a way to do that? I hope that makes sense. I have been struggling to find answers online but hoping someone here is a genius.

😂😅

TOPICS
Windows

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,
Apr 04, 2021 Apr 04, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Working with Lightroom Classic, it's always a good idea to have a backup of your images on a separate hard drive. The method you choose for creating that backup is up to you because Lightroom doesn't create any backup of the images. But just as importantly, you need to have a backup of the catalog because that file is what contains all of the adjustments you have made to those images. Lightroom Classic (or even Lightroom for the cloud for that matter) doesn't touch the images. They always remain in their pristine state. So it's critical to have backups of the catalog stored separately from the images and separately from the hard drive where the catalog is operating from.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Apr 05, 2021 Apr 05, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied