• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How to use the same database and catalog on two different computers?

New Here ,
Jan 29, 2022 Jan 29, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi, I have been using LrC on two different computers for at least 5 years. I have a Mac Powerbook and a desktop PC. To be able to work in the same Lightroom database on both computers I have saved the database on an usb disc together with all photos. That has worked very well until now. When I try to open the database on my Mac it tells med it cannot run a database on a usb disc. Is this a recent change? Any suggestions on how to configure and store my photos and database to get my desired functionality?  I  have the latest version of LrC in the photography plan and run MacOS Monterey.

Best regards/Sture J

TOPICS
macOS

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Lightroom can still do this just fine, but you need to give it enough permissions in MacOS System Settings:

93D41C87-231A-4D3A-97AA-F7B9566F5C95.png

-- Johan W. Elzenga

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,
Jan 30, 2022 Jan 30, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi and thanks for your rapid reply. When I try to do what you suggest I don't get the option to grant access to network files. I enclose a screenshot showing this, unfortunatle in swedish. As you can se I only have 4 items, namely removable files, Downloaded files, Documents and Desktop.  Strange.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines