• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Lightroom 6 - Changing computers from Windows to an M1 Mac

Explorer ,
Jun 17, 2021 Jun 17, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I've been using Lightroom 3 and then upgraded to 6 for several years. It's time to upgrade my computer from Windows to Mac (with M1 chip). I store my photos on an external hard disk and back them up with another external hard disk.

I am not computer savvy and would appreciate advice on how to go about it:

1. Will Adobe send me a Mac version of Lightroom (being a registered owner) or will I need to purchase the latest Mac version. FYI, I rather not store my files in Cloud.
  2. How do I transfer my files to the Mac version?

{Thread title edited by moderator}

Regards,

Edwin

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe Employee ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi, 

We're sorry but Lightroom 6 is not compatible with the M1 Macs. Please check: https://helpx.adobe.com/lightroom-classic/kb/macos-big-sur-compatibility.html

You can use the latest version of Lightroom Classic (10.3) on the M1 Macs as it supports the M1 Macs natively. Being a successor to Lightroom 6, Lightroom Classic has the same editing workflow & the same user interface. The images you add to the catalog remain on your local storage & are not uploaded to the cloud storage unless you add them to a collection & enable Sync for those collections. 

To transfer your files to the Mac, you can move the Lightroom catalog to an external hard drive along with the images & open the catalog in Lightroom Classic on the M1 Mac. The application would upgrade catalog to be compatible with the latest version & you can continue using it.

Please let us know if you have any other questions.

Regards,

Nikunj

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines