• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Lightroom Classic Book Module

Explorer ,
Mar 26, 2022 Mar 26, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm not sure if the things I'm about to say is bug report or a feature request, a tantrum attack...or a little bit of everything. I'm a hobbyist photographer with quite an extensive background in photography and software development. The past month I have spent quite a lot of time trying to put together a photobook with images I took at my recent photography workshop(Jan 2022) with Colby Brown. The book I put together had about 240 images spread across a 213 page book. I used the largest landscape layout Blurb will allow to design my book. The drive to post this message to the community was the fact that I almost lost a whole month of work. When I was about 90% done LR just "lost" all but 6 pages of my work and I was 2 seconds away from a heart attack :-). To cut a long story short after restoring a 48 hr old backup and working for 2 days I managed to restore the book. 

A couple of things I want to recommend to anyone trying this module:

-Export to PDF regularly
-Change the setting on your catalog to backup on exit
-Take a chill pill cause working with this module is not easy

A couple of things to the nice people who charge me for hundreds of dollars over the years presumably for this under developed archaic piece of forgotten software:

1. Build a new layout interface - It should be easier to much easier to save new layouts into groups, I would recommend using the left side which is hardly used
2. Going back and from the library and development module should not require reselecting the book collection every time and if you forget, take you to another empty collection leaving you thinking something went wrong every time and loosing time in the process. At least an user option go back to last collection