Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Lightroom Classic - xmp files no longer created

Community Beginner ,
Nov 24, 2021 Nov 24, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello,
I have been using xmp files for a few years now but until recently, edits that I do in Lightroom Classic doesn't create the xmp sidecar files.

What am I doing wrong? How do I get the xmp files back?
I have that catalogue setting for xmp files, checked.

Thanks for helping out. Much appreciated.

TOPICS
macOS

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Enthusiast , Nov 25, 2021 Nov 25, 2021

What version of LrC are you using? In 11, there is a background task which creates the XMP files. If you've paused this, I don't believe it will write XMP's.

DS256_0-1637842799933.png

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Beginner ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

May I also add, I am a simple user - I take RAW photos from my Canon cameras, and edit the CR2 in Lightroom. I always have the xmp files created after editing them. Recently, they no longer appear. I can't remember when this started.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Maybe a stupid question-  But are you positive the files you are editing are CR2? Camera settings have been known to mysteriously change!

Next, check the actual Folder location of the CR2 you are editing. Then view it in Finder [Right-Click] > [Show in Finder]. Is this the same image you were saving the XMP for?  Is it possible LrC is using files in a folder different to that you are looking at with Finder.