• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Lightroom recognizing only some photos from iphone, puts some in wrong date folder

Community Beginner ,
Jan 26, 2017 Jan 26, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello,

This is my first time on the forums but I've been a heavy lightroom user for about 9 years now with little to no problems.

I have Lightroom CC up to date on a Desktop PC with Windows 10. My iphone is a 6S with up to date iOS 10.2.1.

To get photos from my phone onto my computer, I connect the iphone via USB. In lightroom, my import dialog is Copy, don't import suspected duplicates, and organize by date with format 2017/2017-01-26 into My Lightroom Pictures folders on my harddrive. This has always worked flawlessly.

Last month, I plugged the phone into the computer as always, and Lightroom only recognized some (perhaps 2/3) of the photos and videos from my phone. Which ones it recognized seemed random. I even tried unchecking "don't import suspected duplicates" just in case that feature was malfunctioning, but it didn't change. I imported the photos anyway, and keyworded them. Restarted my computer, made sure everything was updated, tried again, same result.

I ended up making sure my Microsoft Onedrive had all my iphone pics in it, and then used that to get them onto my computer's desktop, and then into my lightroom catalog. This got them all there, but the file names are like 20348239o_jkwehrkhewkhsdkfh.iOS.JPG instead of the usual DSCN3425.JPG. The result here, is that lightroom wasn't able to recognize duplicates because the file names are different, so now I have a bunch of dupes and no way to find them.