• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Ligtroom Classic backups are clogging my PC

New Here ,
Apr 03, 2023 Apr 03, 2023

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I have been using Lightroom/Lightroom for many years, but lately the progran has become a big problem because of the size of the backups. I have now transferred a selection of these to an external harddisk, but every time I make a new backup, my laptop is almost completely full again.

The total size of of the two backups created in March is 143 GB, , the previews and the smart previews being the main ‘culprits’

The backups are stored on OneDrive, but I wonder if you could tell me if I could store all the backups on the external hard disk and avoid using OneDrive? Then I don’t have to move the previous ones  every time I make a new backup  to avoid getting messages saying that my laptop’s harddisk is full.

I have a laptop (Dell XP XPS 13 9380 with a 500 GB SSD disk) with Windows 11. The LR Classic version is 12.2.1

TOPICS
Windows

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

You can store backups wherever you want.

Note that the previews folder doesn't really need backing up. Your catalogue, the lrcat file, does.

When you import, are you creating second copies? These are not intended to remain forever and can be deleted after you have backed up the photos. They may well be clogging up your internal hard drive.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Thank you for your reply.