• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

M1 Ultra Mac and LRC

Contributor ,
Mar 17, 2022 Mar 17, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi folks, I am not sure that I am posting in the correct location but here goes. 

I am a commercial still photographer thinking about buying an M1 Ultra Apple machine because my 2015 iMac Pro is becoming problematic. I am starting to get the spinning wheel of death more frequently and having connectivity problems when I shoot tethered and I don't have these issues with my newer MacBook Pro, thus my motivation in upgrading.

My question is, "Is this machine overkill?" and here are the specs to my situation

My purpose is to optimize my workflow and reduce friction.

I only keep one LRC library on my old 2015 Machine I store the images on an external USB drive enclosure where  I have thousands of images, although I dump everything that I don't deliver to my clients and keep images that may be useful in the future. 

The specs on the new M1 Ultra Apple machine that I am considering are as follows:

Hardware

• Apple M1 Ultra with 20-core CPU, 64-core GPU, 32-core Neural Engine
  • 64GB unified memory
  • 1TB SSD storage
  • Front: Two Thunderbolt 4 ports, one SDXC card slot
  • Back: Four Thunderbolt 4 ports, two USB-A ports, one HDMI port, one 10Gb Ethernet port, one 3.5 mm headphone jack

Any thoughts or criticisms would be appreciated.

TOPICS
macOS

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
Mar 17, 2022 Mar 17, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Have a look at this video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7KdjvDDWO1M

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Beginner ,