• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Photos on an external hard drive, I also store the .lrcat file there too?

Explorer ,
Apr 10, 2023 Apr 10, 2023

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi, Lightroom newbie here, to save space on my Macs internal hard drive I'd like to store all my photos on an external SSD I know how to do this but would it also be a good idea to keep the Lightroom catalog file, the Lightroom catalog previews file and the settings folder on that same external drive too, or is this not a good idea? 

Thanks

TOPICS
macOS

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Please tell us what problem you are trying to solve by doing this.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Explorer ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

To save space on my internal drive

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

People do put the catalog file on the external drive, with the photos. The only real risk is dropping the external drive.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Explorer ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Thanks, Do you mean if I damage the external drive?

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Explorer ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

But I don't know if the .lrcat file or the Lightroom Previews.lrdata take up much space

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied