• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Please help! -- Problems using catalog & photos on external drive across two computers

Explorer ,
Dec 24, 2022 Dec 24, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello, and please help!

I want to be able to work on my images on my desktop and my laptop where necessary.  I have followed Adobe's recommendations, which are to copy images and catalog files to an external HD (fully backed up) and use that.

So I have connected the HD to my laptop and double-clicked the catalog file to open it in LrC.  The thumbnails show up but none of the files can be found by LrC on my laptop.  I'm pretty new to LrC but I presume this is because the original catalog file was linked to images in external drive H: (which is what it is on my desktop), but when I connect this drive to my laptop it's drive G.

So is there an easy way to fix this, i.e. to tell LrC to always look for all catalog images in the current drive as opposed to fiddling around with allocating drive letters in Windows?

Thanks!

TOPICS
Windows

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
Dec 24, 2022 Dec 24, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

PCに接続されているドライブによって、ドライブレターが違ってきてしまうので、予めドライブレターの設定をしてしまい、デスクトップとラップトップで同じドライブレターを使用するようにしてしまえばいいと思います。

リンク先は日本語OSでの設定なので、英語で説明されているページを探してみてください。

https://www.buffalo.jp/support/faq/detail/11300.html

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
Dec 26, 2022 Dec 26, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Here's how to assign a fixed drive letter for removable drives - in english: