• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Problems with external hard drive and lightroom

Community Beginner ,
Aug 31, 2017 Aug 31, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi....I'm quite new to Lightroom and I'm hoping someone can help me. I use an external hard drive as I normally use a iMac desktop computer but occasionally need to use laptops. I thought this was the best way to create my workflow. I'm having trouble getting Lightroom to find my images on the external hard drive even though the hard drive is listed in library module. I'm not sure if i need to import the images from the hard drive to my laptop first - would appreciate any help.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Aug 31, 2017 Aug 31, 2017

You need the same Lightroom program installed on both computers. (allowed)

To facilitate use on both computers-

You should have your catalog on the External Drive.

And all your images should be on the External Drive.

Now you can easily swap the Drive from one computer to the other and 'open' the Catalog to work with Lightroom.

You will only ever Import the photos once, using the "ADD" option so they stay in the existing folders of the external drive.

Problems can arise swapping the drive but they can

Votes

Translate

Translate
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Are you wishing to edit the same images on laptop and iMac – that would require a shared catalog.

If you are simply using the laptop for photos that you shoot when travelling you could use a travel catalog for each trip and then “import as a catalog” from the File menu to combine with your master catalog on the iMac when you get home.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines