• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Rename a Catalog Safely?

Explorer ,
Mar 09, 2022 Mar 09, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am new to LrC and one of my catalogs I inadvertently misspelled the name. How can I safely change it so it doesn't mess up anything else? I have my images on a portable hard drive that LrC reads from. Thank you!

TOPICS
macOS

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

First, you have recent backups of this catalog file, don't you? (If not, the start making backups immediately, no excuses, that is the more important priority) Safety, in the digital world, comes from having recent backups (not just for Lightroom Classic but for all of your files).

Then, go into your operating system's file browser (either Windows Explorer or MAC Finder) and change the name. Then double-click on the file to open it in LrC.

By the way, you say:

I am new to LrC and one of my catalogs

and the very strong recommendation, especially for beginners, is that you should use ONE catalog for all of your photos. There are a gazillion benefits, and no serious drawbacks. So maybe you consolidate all your catalogs into one, and then renaming a catalog is a moot point. (Yes, there are exceptions where more than one catalog makes sense, but without a strong reason to use more than 1 catalog, I stick with the recommendation of ONE catalog)

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Explorer ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied