Settings remain "stacked" after sync or copy settings between images vhile they are active

New Here ,
May 23, 2022 May 23, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I recognized this after the last updet of LRC .After copy or sync settings from one image to several others /so one image is active and others are selected/ the settings remain stacked, so I can not make modifications on one of images, while I not deselect them and select only one. In Lr5 version and in this version before update it worked like this: After sync or copy settings from one image to several similar image I could make modifications simply "dropping the ACTIVE selection from image to image and making modifications -let'say cropping or etc.-, WITHOUT deselect them. It was very usefull and quick method. Is it a part of update or just a mallfunction on my computer? 

TOPICS
Windows

Views

40

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Adobe Community Professional , May 23, 2022 May 23, 2022
If LrC applies new changes of settings onto all of the currently highlighted images - rather than, only to the most-selected active image - this is probably AutoSync. That is controlled by a toggle switch at left end, of the bottom part of the right side Develop panels.  AutoSync is a radical alternative to copying or syncing settings - the big difference being the sequence of working. With copy or sync, you make the change first to one image, and then as a subsequent action you can spread tha...

Likes

Translate

Translate
Adobe Community Professional ,
May 23, 2022 May 23, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

If LrC applies new changes of settings onto all of the currently highlighted images - rather than, only to the most-selected active image - this is probably AutoSync. That is controlled by a toggle switch at left end, of the bottom part of the right side Develop panels. 

 

AutoSync is a radical alternative to copying or syncing settings - the big difference being the sequence of working. With copy or sync, you make the change first to one image, and then as a subsequent action you can spread that changed processing across other images - selectively, or unselectively. With AutoSync by contrast you need to have the images already highlighted, and AutoSync turned on, before you make that editing change. And then this new editing change (selectively) applies across all those images instantly - with no separate action needed.

 

One prevents that from happening in an unwanted way either: by being careful about which images are selected as you work - or: by turning off AutoSync except when you actively do want to edit groups of photos "in the batch". It is powerful, but accordingly needs some extra care.

 

If you are happier with syncing or copy-paste, then you can just leave this feature unused. I don't know why or how it could have been turned on in this case.

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,
May 31, 2022 May 31, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

LATEST

Many-many-many thanks Richard! Exactly, it is autosync button, which I have never used, and additionally its visible only when multiple images are selected.

Likes

Translate

Translate

Report

Report
Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines