• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Severe Image Artifacts in Lr Library Module

Contributor ,
May 01, 2021 May 01, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am getting severe image artifacts mostly in the sky in the library module of Lightroom Classic.  I am using version 13.2 but this is not the first time I have seen this.  It goes away in the develop module or if I view at 100%.  After viewing the image at 100% looks OK when fit to screen.  It also looks OK if I build 1:1 previews.  When I import I only build smart previews.  This is extremely annoying and is occurring on multiple RAW images.  Once I export to a jpg it looks OK.  The attached image was taken with a screen capture program.  As you can see it is really bad.  I see other post about this subject but the are all old back in 2018.  I have been using LR Classic for many years and this only showed up reciently.  I am on Windows 10 64 bit.

Artifacts in image.jpg

TOPICS
Windows

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

LEGEND , May 01, 2021 May 01, 2021

"When I import I only build smart previews."

Others have reported artifacts and banding in smooth-gradient skies with both Library standard previews and in smart previews (both of which are 8 bits/channel), with the artifacts and banding disappearing when you export to 8-bit JPEGs. LR is using an inferior algorithm for generating these 8-bit previews.  

For example, see this bug report:

https://feedback.photoshop.com/conversations/lightroom-classic/photos-show-banding-when-viewed-in-the-cloud-but-not-in-lightroom-classic/605cd28bc7571a4888e303c4

Votes

Translate

Translate
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied