• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Workflow and process

Participant ,
Mar 08, 2021 Mar 08, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I have a large number of jpeg images that I've added to Lightroom Classic which I intend to use as thumbnails on my Wordpress website.  I'm wondering... if I edit/retouch those same images that reside on my hard drive outside of lightroom, do the corresponding images that are in Lightroom reflect those changes? I'm aware that edits to an image in Lightroom are non-destructive and do not impact the original files on the hard drive, but I'm wondering if the reverse is true. The objective here is to edit/retouch the full-size original images perhaps in Photoshop and avoid having to duplicate those edits when I create thumbnails or perform other processes on those files when they are in Lightroom or before adding them in Lightroom. Clearly, I'm a novice and am unsure of the best and most efficient way to process my images for upload to myWordpress galleries where I'll need to upload both optimized, watermarked thumbnails and the corresponding full size images for linking and download

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Mar 09, 2021 Mar 09, 2021

If a JPEG file changes outside Lightroom Classic, Lightroom Classic should update the preview of that file in the catalog the next time you open the catalog. But there are a lot of “if”s:

• If you don’t edit the JPEG images in Lightroom Classic (you’re only using the catalog for tracking), you could then upload those directly to WordPress. 
  • If you only edit the metadata in Lightroom Classic (description, keywords…) then I think you can simply Save Metadata to Files and be able to upload the JPEG

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,