Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Advice on Catalogue per job - Coming from Capture One Session workflow

Explorer ,
Apr 05, 2021 Apr 05, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi, 

I'm coming from Capture One Pro and trying to sus the best workflow for me in Lightroom. 

Normally each shoot is around 20gb to 200gb  (i'm a professional) .

That is self contained in one shoot folder, plus capture / import folder containing sub folders for each shot.

And my output, selects folders. 

See screenshot-

That way I can remove / back from computer when job is done and all raws, adjutments are saved.

I generally dont need long term access to all my shoots, and digging out a hard drive is fine if needed later.

Plus I sync 2 computers via dropbox for my jobs, so like to keep hard drive space maximised, and folders clutter. 

On testing I see each card import or tether is auto organised in a date folder. How can i turn that off?

I want complete control and naming of my import / tether folders. (within the main shoot folder) Normally a subfolder for each shot setup , or product, person within that shoot. I can have  up to 50 'shot' folders within a shoot.

I suspect I have to go the multiple catalogue route to be able to have each shoot self contained. 

However I've read watched loads of advice that say just a couple of main catalogues is better. 

but I need to be able to clear hard drive every couple of weeks for new jobs. 

Any tips would be much appreciated, especially if anyone has experince coming from C1. 

Cheers

S

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Explorer ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

screenshot of my file structure

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines