• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Checking compression of DNG file format?

New Here ,
Apr 09, 2020 Apr 09, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello,

I am new to Lightroom and am trying to ensure that when I take an image on my phone in DNG format and then download it to my computer that it is compressed as little as possible. I need to make sure that I lose as little pixel information as possible during the transfer to my computer.

Is there a way that I can check that the image is not being lossy-compressed?

I saw that there was a question like this posted a couple of years ago that mentioned a DNG dropdown menu and filter, but I can't seem to find that anywhere in Lightroom.

Thanks,

Mary

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

LEGEND , Apr 10, 2020 Apr 10, 2020

To test this I exported the original DNG file to lossy DNG file format and Compression now shows as 'Lossy JPEG' and not just JPEG and 8 8 8 Bits Per Sample. The file size is significantly smaller at 3.5 MB compared to 12.2 MB for the original DNG file. This would indicate to me that the original DNG file uses lossless compression and not lossy JPEG compression. It's probably due to how ExifTool interprets the data fields.

iPhone Lossy DNG.jpg

Votes

Translate

Translate
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Transfer from phone to computer should not change a single pixel. Are the number of pixels (width X height) the same before and after?

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied