• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Create a backup for the originals that LR recognizes

New Here ,
Jan 08, 2021 Jan 08, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi (apologies if this has been posted before, I have been unable to find an answer),

I copied photos onto an external hard drive (using LR 10.1. / MAC OS Catalina 10.15.7/ 2 GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i5/ 16 GB 3733 MHz LPDDR4X/ Intel Iris Plus Graphics 1536 MB) because my internal SSD is quite full. In order to make double backups of the originals (and to make sure LR recognizes them), I enabled ‘save copy to second location’ on import. LR did put the originals there (i.e., the second external hard drive), but all of them in a single folder. Now when I connect only to that second hard drive, LR tells me that the originals are missing. I have to search for each photo. I have been an avid photographer for a quite some time, so when I search, for example, for “IMG_4306.CR2,” the search engine identifies a number of different photos from different years. When I then choose the correct photo on the hard drive and reference it, LR no longer recognizes it on the first backup disk.

What can I do to make LR also recognize the photos that it has created as a second backup?

If it's too complicated to have make backup for the originals in this way, could I just copy the masters folder as a whole (i.e., abandon second copy command)? The activity monitor on my (new) Macbook Pro indicates 82% (LR) and 16% (system) and only 2% idle during the import on two external hard drives, creating smart previews on the computer at the same time– and that although I only imported 150 pictures at a time and waited until the fans turned off again.

So in short, how can I best create a backup for my originals that LR recognizes?

Thanks for your help !!

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines