• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Creating new Catalogue removes all files

New Here ,
Jul 04, 2020 Jul 04, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am completely new to LR Classic, but was trying to catalogue my photos that I had already added to LR, I created a new Catalogue, which took me into windows explorer where my photos are stored, it prompted for a name I typed in name, the folder closed as did LR, when it reopend all the imported photgraphs had gone and it prompted me to import images, I did this twice and both times the same thing happened, what am I doing wrong. I was following a youtube tutorial.  

TOPICS
Windows

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

"I did this twice"

What did you do twice? Create a new catalog?

If so, that's what is supposed to happen when you create a new catalog. If you want to get back to the photographs you already imported, you don't create a new catalog, you open the existing catalog.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

That is exactly how Lightroom Classic functions. Ideally, you only need one Catalog. When you create a new Catalog, it's new empty database file. You need to view some tutorials then start over.

https://blogs.adobe.com/jkost/lightroom-training-videos 

Regards, Denis: iMac 27” mid-2015, macOS 11.7.10 Big Sur; 2TB SSD, 24 GB Ram, GPU 2 GB; LrC 12.5, Lr 6.5, PS 24.7,; ACR 15.5,; Camera OM-D E-M1

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied